HLDJ echoing in-game sounds

Help with using HLDJ

HLDJ echoing in-game sounds

Postby cappatown » Sun Nov 04, 2012 12:40 am

I do not have or use a mic, the files are correct wav files but in game when I try to play something it just makes weird noises and echos the game. Has the "!" picture but my name does not show up under it.


1) Does HLDJ launch the game correctly for you? Yes
2) Does "HLDJ Loaded Successfully" appear in console on starting the game (with no errors)? Yes
3) What is the console output after selecting a song, or issuing other HLDJ commands such as "hldj_next"?

] 6
Host_WriteConfiguration: Wrote cfg/hldj_cmd_b.cfg
Loaded : Goodbye Horses - Q Lazzarus

4) Create your own local server and set the appropriate sv_ commands (see above), then:
4-a) Load one of the sample audio files and perform a search of your Steam directory (without stopping HLDJ) for the file "voice_input.wav" - does it show up, and if so, where? Yes, C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\cappatown\team fortress 2
4-b) If it exists, open it in an audio player: does it sound like the audio file you loaded? No, it play but it has no sound.
4-c) If it exists, return to the game, and enter the following into console:

Code: Select all
voice_inputfromfile 1; voice_loopback 1; voice_forcemicrecord 0; voice_modenable 1; voice_enable 1; +voicerecord

Does the audio file start to play? No
5) Does voice normally work for you? If not, or you do not have a microphone, have you remembered to set up any applicable options in your operating system and/or the game? ** No mic, voice is enabled in game under options
cappatown
Game DJ
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 12:23 am

Re: HLDJ echoing in-game sounds

Postby cappatown » Sun Nov 04, 2012 12:42 am

Image
cappatown
Game DJ
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 12:23 am

Re: HLDJ echoing in-game sounds

Postby cappatown » Sun Nov 04, 2012 4:11 pm

I used the automatic wav converter in HLDJ instead of Audacity, and now it is working. I'd like to use audacity- I thought I was converting it the right way.

1. Split mono to stereo.
2. Delete the bottom track
3. Set sample format to 16-bit
4. Project rate at 11025
Export.
cappatown
Game DJ
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 12:23 am

Re: HLDJ echoing in-game sounds

Postby cappatown » Sun Nov 04, 2012 4:43 pm

Problem fixed- in case someone else is having trouble with Audacity, I found one tutorial that has this extra in it that no others did, and this is why is wasn't working!

" Before you export you'll need to click File > Open Metadata Editor and then click "Clear." If you don't do this, your file will not work."

Who would have guessed.
cappatown
Game DJ
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 12:23 am


Return to Help



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron