HLDJ Works only on local server.

Help with using HLDJ

HLDJ Works only on local server.

Postby subzero » Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:31 am

1) Does HLDJ launch the game correctly for you? - YES
2) Does "HLDJ Loaded Successfully" appear in console on starting the game (with no errors)? - YES
3) What is the console output after selecting a song, or issuing other HLDJ commands such as "hldj_next"?
Host_WriteConfiguration: Wrote cfg/hldj_cmd_b.cfg
Loaded : sample_src


4) Create your own local server and set the appropriate sv_ commands (see above), then:
4-a) Load one of the sample audio files and perform a search of your Steam directory (without stopping HLDJ) for the file "voice_input.wav" - does it show up, and if so, where? -
c:\Games\Steam\steamapps\MY_ACCOUT_NAME\team fortress 2\

4-b) If it exists, open it in an audio player: does it sound like the audio file you loaded? - YEAH
4-c) If it exists, return to the game, and enter the following into console:
...
Does the audio file start to play? - YES!

But when i join to another server where ppl are translating their own songs - i cannot play the song I only hear myself - my mic icon is showing up and...if i click-click on keyboard - i hear it. Why? On local server i certainly can set server variables
sv_allow_voice_from_file 1
sv_use_steam_voice 0

I tryed to set sv_use_steam_voice to 1 on local server - and got the same effect. Then set it to 0 - and i can hear the song. I read a lot of sticked themes but i dont understand what do i do wrong (i use src audio file from HLDJ page so i dont need to care about formatting, but it's ok - i checked for it. Metadata also do not exist.

Why doesn't it work on server where ppl use HLDJ (or HLSS, i dont know) ?
subzero
Game DJ
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:16 am

Re: HLDJ Works only on local server.

Postby subzero » Mon Dec 03, 2012 3:09 am

Please, answer me. What do i do wrong? Should i reconvert HLDJ sound to new format? I guess no, it should work with older one, right? What's wrong else?

You can say - "server you are joining to doesnt allow broadcasting sounds". But other players play a lot of music. How it could be?
subzero
Game DJ
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:16 am

Re: HLDJ Works only on local server.

Postby Renegade » Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:52 pm

other players may be using different methods of broadcasting audio, or servers may allow certain players to broadcast and not others, etc. There doesn't appear to be anything wrong with your HLDJ setup.
Renegade
HLDJ Developer
HLDJ Developer
 
Posts: 1500
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 2:02 pm


Return to Help



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron