Page 1 of 1

Is there a bind to do search faster?

Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 12:57 am
by darkmwar
each time i search forsomething, i have to type this in console: bind = {search name}; hldjsf
Is there a way to bind it so that when the binded key is pressed, the game will ask for me for a word to search, instead of typing the whole thing into the console, perhaps a little command box to type the search word in?

Re: Is there a bind to do search faster?

Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 2:28 am
by Renegade
It's not really possible for HLDJ to use a pop up box in-game.
Instead, try re-alias "hldjsf" as something shorter, say "s":

Code: Select all

alias s hldjsf
...
bind = [search name]; s
That reduces it down to 10 characters, which should be faster to type than having to fuss with a search box (even if it were possible).

Re: Is there a bind to do search faster?

Posted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:11 am
by darkmwar
Renegade wrote:It's not really possible for HLDJ to use a pop up box in-game.
Instead, try re-alias "hldjsf" as something shorter, say "s":

Code: Select all

alias s hldjsf
...
bind = [search name]; s
That reduces it down to 10 characters, which should be faster to type than having to fuss with a search box (even if it were possible).
thankyou, is there a way to shorten bind = ?

Re: Is there a bind to do search faster?

Posted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:55 am
by Renegade
no, not really.