Page 1 of 1
Binds help
Posted: Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:11 pm
by Aasokeo
I've carefully read the instructions in the manual and I've read Renegade's thread on binds, but I just can't get them to work! Whenever I press any of the bound keys, whatever I last pulled up (or in the case of initial start-up, silence) plays instead. I tested this by queuing a song, then pressing one of the bound keys. Indeed, the queued song played, but not the file that was bound to the key.
This is what I'm trying to bind:
Code: Select all
bind KP_INS "bind = $\vicstayin; hldjsf"
bind KP_END "bind = $\yakkety; hldjsf "
bind KP_DOWNARROW "bind = $\thinkjeo; hldjsf"
bind KP_PGDN "bind = $\freshprinceparty; hldjsf"
bind KP_LEFTARROW "bind = $\freshprince; hldjsf"
bind KP_5 "bind = $\lowrider; hldjsf"
bind KP_RIGHTARROW "bind = $\vicapache; hldjsf"
bind KP_HOME "bind = $\kungfushort; hldjsf"
bind KP_UPARROW "bind = $\whatslove; hldjsf"
bind KP_PGUP "bind = $\poke; hldjsf"
The Audio folder is in the default spot, i have no other subfolders/directories in that folder. I've double and triple-checked the syntax but I can't find any errors. The filenames are also exactly as they are in the Audio folder. I have tried adding and removing quotation marks, removing the "$\" bit before the filenames and adding "playaudio" following the hldjsf command...all with no results. Any help on this is appreciated
Also the bind for #2 on the keypad (KP_DOWNARROW) won't work at all (no response when pressed), while the others at least play something - did I do something wrong?
Re: Binds help
Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 12:30 am
by Renegade
Are there any errors in console complaining about bind syntax? I don't see anything wrong with the syntax, but trying different things can give you a hint:
Code: Select all
bind = $\mysong; hldjsf
bind = "$\mysong"; hldjsf
bind key "bind = $\mysong; hldjsf"
If the first works, your filename is fine; if the second, quotes are fine; if the last, your bind is fine. In some rare cases, quotations can trip the game up, so you might try using aliases:
Code: Select all
alias myalias "bind = $\mysong"
bind key "myalias; hldjsf"
A few notes:
1) If Numpad keys do not respond, try toggling NumLock
2) If you are using exact filenames, prefix the '>' character, it will make loading more efficient.
3) If you are using yesterday's 1.6.0 alpha, there was a bug fix, use today's 1.6.0a2
Re: Binds help
Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 7:42 am
by Aasokeo
Okay, I downloaded the latest version and tested the syntax using your suggestions - none of the three work (silence again). I also tried using aliases, but still the problem persisted.
I did however, notice this in console every time I pressed one of the bound keys:
Code: Select all
Host_WriteConfiguration: Wrote cfg/hldj_cmd_(LETTER HERE).cfg
":" isn't a valid key
If I remember correctly, the colon is used for the older engine and I think perhaps that's screwing something up...?
Re: Binds help
Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:35 am
by Renegade
Yes. The old ":" command relay key should have been updated to "=" long ago. If for some reason this didn't happen, you'll need to change the Command Relay Key for each game in Setup (Advanced section), or you can just remove and re-add all your games.
Re: Binds help
Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 2:53 pm
by Aasokeo
Here's the weird thing: the command relay key is indeed '=' for all games. I re-added all the games anyway, still nothing. I did a little searching in the cfg folder of Counter-Strike, and I noticed that the colon had taken the place of '=' in config.cfg. I replaced all the colons with '=' but STILL nothing.
Also, somehow during this course of events, the bound keys won't even activate (NO response at all), and of course num lock is on.
Re: Binds help
Posted: Sat Jul 03, 2010 3:15 pm
by Renegade
There shouldn't be any ":" or "=" in your config.cfg. ":" is no longer a valid key and "=" should have been unbound by HLDJ. If you have either in your config.cfg, something else is putting it there. Check all your .cfg's, if all else fails, completely remove and re-install both the game and HLDJ.
Re: Binds help
Posted: Sat Jul 03, 2010 3:45 pm
by Aasokeo
I have removed all instances of the colon from config.cfg but I'm still getting this message. Before I reinstall - what exactly are the cfg/hldj_cmd_(LETTER HERE).cfg files? Where can I find them?
Re: Binds help
Posted: Sat Jul 03, 2010 3:57 pm
by Renegade
They contain the commands to be passed to HLDJ, and you can't find them as they should only exist for a fraction of a second. More info on how they work here:
http://hldj.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=360#p2129
Run the command "hldjsf". If you see the error, then you know hldjsf is using ":". Look in your hldj_init.cfg for where hldjsf (or rather hldj_select_file) is aliased. If ":" appears there, then either the Command Relay Key needs to be changed or you are using an old version of HLDJ. If not, then hldjsf is being overwritten elsewhere, and you will need to find where that is (or delete HLDJ and the entire game folder). Common places to look are all cfg's in the game's "cfg" folder and HLDJ's "custom" folder.
Re: Binds help
Posted: Sat Jul 03, 2010 5:23 pm
by Aasokeo
This is really strange. I just did a little test. It seems that every time I run the game AFTER DELETING THE COLON AND REPLACING WITH THE EQUALS SIGN, the colon just takes it's place again in config.cfg. I have no idea how this is happening. The colon is nowhere to be found elsewhere in the cfg folder or in hldj/custom. I just can't understand why HLDJ (or CSS?) is re-writing the colon in place of the equals sign. I'm gonna delete all traces of the binds and re-write it and see if that changes anything.